Advantages/Disadvantages of all PT Practice Areas

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Beach55

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second year PT student who has completed one outpatient rotation and still haven't decided what area in PT I want to work in. I know I'll have a better idea of the direction I want to go after finishing my clinical rotations but would really like to hear advantages/disadvantages of each practice area from current PT's or students who have finished most of their clinical rotations. One area I'd like to hear about is stress levels in each of the practice areas...personally, I'd rather work in a less stressful environment where I can work one on one with a patient (which I know rules OP in most clinics) and not feel like I'm selling a service to someone who may or may not need it. Salary is not a priority to me. Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Acute/ICU:
Inpatient Rehab:
SNF:
Outpatient:
School:
Home Health:

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Outpatient would be best for you. You get able bodied people who benefit the most from therapy although the pay is a bit less. ICU can be a pain because usually you can't do much with them besides try to sit them on the side of the bed/feel bad for them. In patient is roughly the same as SNF except not as many old people and more injuries. SNF is awesome in my opinion, best pay and least stress. Home health is my favorite. You do your own thing all day and take a break when you want and see as many patients as you want for however long you want.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app