Advice For All Current And Pre-dent Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Dai Phan

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Let me introduce myself... I am Dai Phan and I am currently a dentist working at the Albuquerque VA. I think that my educational path is anything but typical so I think that I can relate to all of your concerns. Let me say that I came to this country in 1980 and earned my BS degree in Aerospace Engineering in 1985. I then decided to go into dentistry (my father was an MD, my brother is a PHD in engineering so I thought dentistry for me would be appropriate). I went to University of Kansas for my pre-dent and I enrolled in UMKC Dental School in 1990 and earned my DDS in 1995. I then went on and did my post graduate trainings in General Dentistry (G.P.R and A.E.G.D) at the University of Nebraska Medical Center and University of Minnesota in 1996 and 1997. I then went on and completed a three year Prosthodontic Residency at Marquette University in 2000. Then I went another step further... I did an one year fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in Maxillofacial Prosthetic program completed in 2001. After a total of 16 years ( with a BSAE, DDS, two certificates in General Dentistry training, a speciaty and a sub-specialty), I became a full time professor at the University of Tennesee in Memphis. Two years ago, I was offered a job as a Maxillofacial Prosthodontist at Albuquerque VA and have been here since. I have given lectures nationally on various dental topics as well as giving talk to kids,high school and college students about the field of dentistry and how to get into the residency programs or life topics in general. I feel that I can help you should you need any advice regarding making it through dental schools, what specialty to pursue or any topics that you need help. Thank you for listening. Da