advice for applying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bigbadbruin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello im new to this forum. i had a question about what kind of extracurriculars y'all have had. i am an undergraduate looking to apply to mph program next year. what kind of research and or jobs pertain to mph programs? also, if my gpa is not that great, what is recommended? THANks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey, look at that thread, but also I can give advice on how to overcome a sub-3.0 GPA in the MPH admissions game. Okay, so in my case, I'm currently an undergrad senior going straight into an MPH this coming fall. I applied to 6 schools total, 2 reach (two top 10 PH schools), 2 match, and 2 "safe bets". In the end, I received admits from both of my reach schools, a rejection from a match, an admit from a safety, and then no response from one match and one safety school.

The point is, I got in, with a (oh, I'm not ashamed now...) 2.65 cumulative GPA, and a 3.0 GPA in my major. Here's how:

1. I must admit first I do attend a Top 25 university, but assuming from your screen name, you might go to UCLA, which is known as an amazing school for undergrad. Even if you don't go to UCLA, my advice still applies.

2. See, I started off college as a pre-med, but by the middle of my sophomore year, I realized my that public health was more appropriate in terms of population health. So, my grades from those early years aren't completely great.:oops: