sunflowers91

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Dec 6, 2013
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hi,
I am an AMG resident who is interested in hematology oncology fellowship. I am interested in applying for fellowship with the goal of practicing academic hematology oncology and would like to go into a mid-upper to upper tier program with strong research. I wanted to get some advice from those who have been through the process regarding putting together a strong application, and how to best optimize my chances. I went to a top tier med school and am at a mid tier IM residency. I have had substantial research experience: I have 7 publications (most are basic/translational research, some in onc but not all, but mostly coauthor, a few 1st author papers, and one of which is in a high impact journal), and 5 posters/oral presentations at national conferences. My step scores were okay (step 1 >230s, step 2> 250s). I have thus far done very well and gotten overall very positive feedback from my clinical rotations. I anticipate having good letters, including a strong one from a very well known faculty member. I am nervous because I know hematology oncology is increasingly competitive, especially in programs that are strong for research. I wanted to hear some advice from what kind of research or experiences may strengthen my application. Thanks.

whoknows2012

10+ Year Member
May 15, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Hi,