Advice for M1 (3rd parties, grades)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

breadbubble

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a first year medical student who scores a B/B+ average on our in-house exams.
While I recognize this is not failing, I would really like to get an A- or A in the future.
I mix between our class deck's in-house anki, Anki King, and sketchy. Some B&B when possible as well.

I was wondering if you all suggest buying Usmle Rx, Amboss Qb, or starting Uworld early for practice questions? My next block is about cardio and pulm. Any general advice for scoring better would be greatlly appreciated.

Thanks all! Happy holidays.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Depends on how your school does exams. If your school is trying to replicate step questions, then those resources would be great but I feel like most school exams are more tailored to what the school wants you to know. (Pharm for instance, some drugs are really hit hard in school and those drugs aren't even listed in any step prep). So you might be hammering good step material but missing the mark on your in school stuff. Save Uworld for when it gets closer to step 1 time since thats the gold standard as far as qbanks go. We had scholar rx given to us and its okay but again, they hammer more step stuff and your school might cover more specific material thats important to them for some reason.

Reactions: 1 users
I'd say if you are B/B+ then you are doing the right things. I'd actually not spend more time studying and would spend more focus on living your life (gym, friends, etc) as that will be worth more in the long run in keeping you ready to succeed when they turn up the heat.