Advice for PhD getting MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mendel121

Just hoping to match
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'vee seen a couple others write about my situation, but I'd like to see what input you all have on my particular concern. I have a PhD (12/04) in Epidemiology not traditional epi, but more a molecular genetics epi involving gene mapping - that said I am continuing on to medical school in the fall. I know that I want to go to med school, because I want to continue to do genetic studies, and I really don't think that life doing only research will make me very happy. My concern is money. I have a wife and 2 kids, so I'll need more money than a more typical med student to live on. I'm staring at the prospect of leaving med school with $200k+ in student loans, and I don't want to put myself in a situation where when I finally get out I won't be able to make enough money to justify that much debt.

I'm interested in blunt and honest advice, is going to med school a stupid decision for me in the long run? How have others in situations like mine dealt with the money issue?

Members don't see this ad.

Take my advice with a big grain of salt...