Advice for re-entering clinical rotations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lynnier79

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Im a current MD/PhD student finishing up my research. My defense date is in November, and I'll be starting my rotations in January with Medicine, then Surgery, then Family, then OB/Gyn.

Ive been out of clinical medicine for a while, and was curious if anyone has any suggestions on things to read/do/look at before going back. I had sort of re-listened to some of the Goljan lectures i used for Step 1, but I think they are sort of esoteric for what i need now.

Of course, I know that I'll still be an idiot for a while, but everyone else on my rotation will have been in clerkships for 6 months already, and Im hoping to not totally be a sore thumb.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Congratulations on wrapping up with the toughest part of the program!

That said, you will probably find the first few months back in clinics challenging (as does almost everyone) - and there are two things that make me a bit concerned in your situation:

1) You're coming back off-cycle and will be graded against classmates who've been at it for 6 months and for whom expectations are higher. It would probably help to mention to your teams (but not dwell on this point) that this is your first clerkship back from the PhD, etc. etc. just so they adjust their expectations accordingly. Unfortunately, residency matches for almost all specialties are getting more competitive even for MD-PhDs, so it really helps to do well in 3rd year.