Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Advice for Waitlist Limbo

Discussion in 'Re-Applicants [ MD / DO ]' started by rmorriso, Apr 10, 2007.

1. I applied to med school this year as an undergrad senior, so I have no post-undergrad experiences yet. Numbers were pretty good

MCAT: 33Q
    GPA: 3.45
    Lots of extracurriculars including student government and leadership positions in the schools health sciences club but no medical/clinical/research experience outside of ER shadows and 18 months of volunteering in a children's hospital (I want to go into pediatrics).
    I'm blind to my letter of recommendation (university committee style) but I feel that is definitely beneficial. I have great relationships with all the professors involved in writing it.

Anyways, I got 3 interviews (Georgetown, OHSU, and WVU) and am currently wait listed at all 3. None of the schools rank their list so I have no idea where I stand with any of them. I feel like my interviews went fairly well, confident enough that I don't feel like I adversely affected my application.

Now, if I dont get in this year, I do want to reapply next year (aka this year). However, its kinda a rock and hard place issue as far as looking into things I can do next year if I dont get in, because I dont want to contractually commit to something then have to break it if I do get off one of the wait lists.