Advice needed on either submitting app or taking DAT first

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Member 139582

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I just started studying for the DATs last week.

I am confused as to whether I should continue to study, take it on July 3rd, THEN work on/submit my application,
or
take a couple days to a week of working on my application, and then only having a bit more than 3 weeks to prepare for the DAT, or end up pushing it back by a week

I am worried about submitting before my DAT because:
I could submit now with previous DAT scores, but they are below avg (19AA/18PAT), and I want the admissions to look at my retake scores, instead of simply brushing aside my old scores and avg GPA(3.58) before they even seriously consider me. Bascically, I want them to consider me once I have new scores that make me look more competitive. Is this a good idea?
[[Also, the fact that one of my LORs(committee) won't be ready until end of July, but I already have an extra letter, so I am content with submitting early, and then having the committee letter sent to schools/AADSAS later.]]

I am worried about submitting after my DAT because:
If I have everything ready (statement/submitted/supplementals) and done by August 11th, It takes around 4 weeks or so for my grades to be verified PLUS another week before AADSAS finally gets mailed out to schools. That would leave my application ready by August 15/22. I worried this won't help my application, but wondering if its worth my new DAT scores.

So I am debating whether to wait until after my DAT's to e-submit, causing my application to not be early by any means, or to e-submit first with subpar DAT and GPA, and hope they will begin to consider me only when my new DAT scores arrive.