advice on a difficult decision

Discussion in 'Pre-Veterinary' started by sambone, Mar 28, 2007.

1. sambone

sambone Cornell 2013
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Veterinary
    This is probably a unique situation, but if anyone has some input it would be really appreciated - this dilemma is keeping me up at night!

I've been a research tech in a lab for two years now and recently got offered an animal related, non-research job that really interests me and would add more diversity to my somewhat paltry animal experience.
    My problem is that the PI I work for will probably be so ticked off that I'm leaving, I think he won't write me a recommendation (Even though I've worked my butt off, been a pretty good tech and will give ~3months notice).
    I don't have a contract or anything, but he expected me to be around another year.
    A post-doc in my lab said she'd write a great one for me, but I don't know how that looks. I'm pretty sure the lack of one from my PI would raise red flags.
    The other problem is that my tech job is pretty rigid, and it's been really hard to fit in the volunteering and some of the classes I need to make me competitive. (I'm a non-trad)
    Man...this is such a crappy, lose-lose situation.

#1 sambone, Mar 28, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2008
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. cyrille104

2+ Year Member

Is there any way to talk to your PI and tactfully ask him if he'd be pissed if you left?

4. turix

Pre-Veterinary
    I got a post Doc to write a recommendation for me instead of my PI because at the time I was closer to the post doc. My situation is a little different because the post doc is also a teacher at my school.

5. sambone

sambone Cornell 2013
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Veterinary
    I wish!...I asked to work 30hrs instead of 40hrs per week so I could fit in some classes, and that didn't go over well at all. I can only imagine how he'll respond to my resignation.

6. kate_g

kate_g Senior Member
    2+ Year Member