Advice on how to fix gpa for DO schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bucks17

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright, so I am new to SDN but I really need some help.

I’m really looking for any guidance on what to do. I have a sGPA of 3.1 and a cumulative just slightly above that.9(AACOMAS calculated) I’m in a confusing spot in my undergrad science courses. I always did better in the second semester of courses for example: Gen Chem1 I got a C took, took GenChem2 years later and got a B. Took O chem1 got a C, took o chem 2 a semester later and got an A. Took biochem and got a B. Physics1 got a C and physics 2 a B. I also got a C in college Algebra my freshman year because I missed a final due to extenuating circumstances and a make up "could not be made" but obviously my math skill is good enough if I have done well in Physics and stats courses. I’m confused on what I should do to fix my sGPA. I'm non-traditional, have a lot of experience with Animal science/reproduction and comparative anatomy but I am fixed on Human medicine now. 100 hours shadowing in rural areas, volunteering at free clinics in rural areas, amongst other things.

ignorantly, I took my MCAT with trying to self teach ochem 1, 2, biochem and physics, I spent so much time on that, that I only spent 1 week on Psych/Soc. I don't need any comments on how dumb this was I know it is and now I have to face the music.

I got a 491 122,122,126,121.
I know I can do much better now with my fuller knowledge and more studying.

in short, I know that I need to retake the MCAT and fix my GPA somehow. I’m looking almost strictly DO at the University of Pikeville Kentucky- I’m a resident of the area (very rural) and they give preference to it. Their “competitive” for interview is 498 and 3.2 of both gpa. I know it is smarter to apply to more schools so I will obviously do that.