Advice on selecting schools (CO resident)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Norzy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all!

I needed some second opinions on schools to apply to.

My background: I'm a CO resident, with a BA in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, and a Pharm D. My undergrad cGPA is about 3.69 and I think my sGPA is pretty close to that. I went through the University of Colorado system for both my BA and Pharm D. I have pretty good EC's, not super amazing, but I've done my share of physician shadowing and community volunteering. My MCAT score was 32N.

So far I've picked:
University of CO
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Oregon Health & Science University
University of Nebraska
University of Iowa Carver
University of MN Twin Cities
University of AL Birmingham
University of Miami
University of Rochester

And Mayo Clinic as a reach school.

I'm interested in primary care and possibly academics. I'm not interested in DO schools.

I would appreciate any advice/assessment on the list of schools I have compiled, as well as suggestions for other schools that I should consider. Since my state has only one allopathic school that's also pretty competitive, I don't really have any safety schools!

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
1) Have you taken your MCAT? If yes, what is your score?
2) Is there a specific area you would like to be in?

My background: I'm a CO resident, with a BA in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, and a Pharm D. My undergrad cGPA is about 3.69 and I think my sGPA is pretty close to that. I went through the University of Colorado system for both my BA and Pharm D. I have pretty good EC's, not super amazing, but I've done my share of physician shadowing and community volunteering. My MCAT score was 32N.

So far I've picked:
University of CO
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Oregon Health & Science University