Advice on sending out cold e-mails for shadowing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SLPvsAUD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I know classes have just started or are soon to be starting for most of you reading this, but if you have a few minutes to spare I'd really appreciate your advice.

I graduated this past spring and decided to take the year off before heading to grad school to tackle my AuD and in the mean time I really want to get some experience under my belt through shadowing. However, I really don't have any connection in the field so I was thinking about sending out cold emails to audiologist and ENT offices in my area. (which happens to be a very large city). I'm just not sure what information I should include with the message I send. I have a job resume I could include (if that's even necessary to include), but should I also include information such as a list of relevant undergraduate course work and so on?

I'm tired of wasting time that could much better be spent shadowing just because I'm stuck up on what I should actually send along with the request in the first place :eek:

So if anyone reading this has some advice on what I should include or advice on how you may have handled a similar situation, I'd be so thankful for your help.

Thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.