Advice to Future URM Students in your Position?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted853360

I'm currently a sophomore and while I have decided that I want to take a gap year, what advice do you guys have for myself or any other URM students lingering on this forum?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a sophomore and while I have decided that I want to take a gap year, what advice do you guys have for myself or any other URM students lingering on this forum?

I went to a school that was surprisingly strong when it came to preparing me for a career in science/research (a beautiful & rural HBCU that truly blessed me), but was lacking in healthcare prep or connections soooooo:
  • One thing I always suggest is to do your best to shadow and volunteer in a hospital (or clinic or whatever healthcare setting) while you're in school. It's something I didn't get until a year or so after I graduated. I know 0 doctors & there was one hospital in town that did not like/want student volunteers so that was a wrap for me.
  • However, if you're in the same boat I took advantage of all the other opportunities offered by my school in research & built a strong network & background there. This helped me a ton with employment later. I have 4+ years of research that never fails to land me at least a good PT or great contract position (note: I actually really like research, so I could be biased).
  • Volunteer in different areas if you can. My school had a lot of different organizations that it partnered with and volunteering was mandatory so I did a ton of stuff that really allowed me to see where my heart was.