Advice would be appreciated.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aura5

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've posted a couple of posts tacked on to other people's threads and thought it'd make sense to just start my own. I just need general advice, if anyone has any...

To try to make a long story short. I joined this board about 2 years ago. I have a bachelor's double major in Communication and English. During the last year I realized psychology is what I wanted all along, as that is one subject that truly interests me and I have a strong passion to help people, pretty much only as it applies to emotional and psychological suffering. So, in some form or another, psychology is where I want to be. I even look up sites about psychological-subjects in my spare time because it interests me, and it's almost always the psychological or mental slant of any subject that interests me.

So, that being said. I have about 15 credits in psychology (unfortunately a little too late for a minor). 4.0 for all those classes, overall GPA 3.94. However I have very little experience, and no research experience. 2 years ago I began looking into Ph.D. and P.syD programs but...felt a tad overwhelmed seeing people who were more qualified than me were getting rejected. So I while trying to sort it out, I got a job as an assistant to the PR department at a mental health hospital (also getting involved in some of the hospital's admin functions). While that put me in the right setting, my role did not involve any patient interaction, etc. I hope it still counts for something (as far as showing dedication to the field)...

So that's where I stand. Have not taken GREs yet. I am rethinking attempting to jump right into a Ph.D or doctorate. I feel at this point I'm really underqualified and don't want to waste a year applying to places that I have no chance with.