Advice

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by VCU07, Apr 14, 2004.

1. VCU07

VCU07 Member
    10+ Year Member

I just wanted to get advice on the following situation: I am currently a pharmacy student finishing up my 1st yr. Although I like pharmacy, I have always seen myself as a physician, not a pharmacist. I don't have anything against pharmacy, but I want more clinical contact with patients, as opposed to counseling. In addition to this, I find courses such as anatomy, physiology, etc...more interesting than Kinetics and the like. I was premed all the way through undergrad and suddenly changed to pharmacy b/c of a few reasons. First, I thought that maybe I could not handle med. school, which I now know I can. Second, I had just got married and really did not want to strain our relationship, esp. as newly weds. Although my wife tells me to do what makes me happy, I know she dreads the possibility of not seeing much of me during med school. Is it really true that med students have to sacrifice their family for school? or can they balance both? Also, I really can't afford to waste anymore years thinking about this since I'm not getting any younger. Finally, I don't have the energy (nor finances) to do both pharmacy and med. It has to be one or the other. So, what do you guys think? stick w/pharmacy and get over myself or switch?

2. omarsaleh66

omarsaleh66 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    go to med school man

it doenst take time from ur family, its hard, but im sure so is pharm school. u can alwasy make time for whatever u feel is important.

finances? loans can help that, u gonna get so much financiall aid in med school where u and ur wife can live comfortably until u graduate.

u think the transition will be hard, but med school isnt bad at all, atleast not yet for me (im almost finished w first year)

later

omar

3. axm397

axm397 SDN Moderator
    Moderator Physician SDN Advisor 15+ Year Member

Attending Physician