Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

royalslax

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a 2nd year graduate student in a PhD program for biochemistry. Medical school was always in the back of my mind as an possibility, however, my UG grades were just ok and I knew that I could probably not get in, as well as I was not 100 percent decided on my career path after my graduation. After doing these past few years of research, however, I have found myself questioning if getting a PhD is really what I wanted to do. I shadowed a doctor and absolutely loved it, so i decided to take an upper level undergrad bio class and did very well. I guess my question is would finishing with an MS in biochemistry look ok on my application as opposed to the PhD or should I just stick it out and get my PhD (obviously dependent on me passing my candidacy exam this month)? In addition what is your take on the value of publications. I have been in grad school for two years and don't have any, does it look bad to have a graduate degree and not have one? Also for anyone who has had a similar experience, how has your PI taken your decision to get a master's and possibly pursue medical school? Sorry for all these questions! Id appreciate any help or advice.

Members don't see this ad.