1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

after dental school

Discussion in 'Dental' started by vaio, Dec 10, 2008.

1. vaio

vaio Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Hi, i'm a third year dental student. I plan on doing general dentistry once I graduate from d-school. I was wondering what percentage of students on average go on to do a GPR to gain more experience? Do dentists hire fresh grads with no experience outside of dental school?
    I don't plan on doing a GPR; i'm hoping the expereince i gain in dental school will be enough to find a job somewhere in cali....i've started to question this after talking to the seniors at my school; many are applying to GPRs because they feel they need to gain more experience

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. vaio

vaio Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

umm...feel free to share your thoughts :thumbup:

4. Str8Tth

2+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]

#3 Str8Tth, Dec 11, 2008
    Last edited: May 21, 2011
  5. KOM

KOM Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Dental Student
    I'm going to do an AEGD with the Air Force if I fail to get OMFS straight out of school. It's nice because I'll still get paid 75K to do one, but honestly I think GPR's, Adv. Ed. programs are pretty much worth their weight in gold.

I know I'm with you in terms of wanting to get out and start making some real cash and I think if you get into an associate position where you feel comfortable asking other more seasoned dentists their advice then I would consider not doing one.

I'm sure there are plenty of dentists that start working straight out of dental school. My father and grandfather are two such people. It's true, you don't know what you don't know...but you'll learn a lot on your own. They don't call it a dental "practice" for nothing.