Apr 10, 2010
Chicago, IL
Status
Other Health Professions Student
Hey guys,

I am a first time poster, but long time stalker of SDN...bare with me please!

I am currently an MPH student that is very interested in applying for a DO/Phd program (specifically MSUCOM, PhD in Epi... but advice on any DO/Phd is my main concern and is greatly appreciated). It seems to me that this forum is filled with MD/Phd information but due to the different nature and training of Osteopathic medicine, I was wondering for those who have done a dual degree, been accepted, or also wanting to apply:

1) What are the academic and extracurricular expectations (either formal requirements or un-written requirements/expectations) for a DO/Phd program? Are they the same as a MD/Phd?

2) What things did you do/are you doing to make yourself a marketable candidate? (ie. gpa, volunteering, research)

3)Are there any keys to success for applying to DO/Phd program?

4) How does having a Masters or Post-bacc increase/decrease your chances?

P.S Ive got a little time, I plan to apply for the 2011-2012 cycle.

Thanks...I Heart SDN!

Last edited:

MNIkid87

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 25, 2007
Status
MD/PhD Student