Alpha Epsilon Delta

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bbas

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just found out that I was accepted, but was shocked to see that there is a sixty dollar membership fee. Is it worth it to join this organization?

Members don't see this ad.

bbas said:
I just found out that I was accepted, but was shocked to see that there is a sixty dollar membership fee. Is it worth it to join this organization?
What would you consider worth it? It really depends on what your chapter does.

bbas said:

Yes, sixty dollars is nothing when compared to the few thousand dollars that it costs you per year to join a national fraternity or sorority. Also, AED will give you a lot of volunteering opportunities too.

Members don't see this ad :)
Congratulations!

I'm an officer of AED at my school, so I might be biased, but I'd definitely say go for it if your chapter does interesting stuff. We do a lot of speakers/panels, others do volunteering -- it all depends. Since you applied, you're probably interested in whatever your local chapter does. Plus, I hate to bring up the resume aspect, but AED is the only national premed honor society, so it does look good.... $60 seems steep, but it's on par with other honor societies like Phi Beta Kappa, so it's not outrageous or anything.

I was an officer for a few years at our chapter, but I think its worth it only if your chapter is really highly developed and provides a lot of opportunities. I think this past year our chapter was highly unorganized due to lack of communication skills amongst officers and lack of people getting things done.

At any rate, I think the things that most matter are research, clinical experience, and doing the things you most enjoy in life.

Since the admission criteria for AED and Phi Beta Kappa are so drastically different, I'd have to disagree that AED is similar.