whoam

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Mar 8, 2005
Status
Hi,
Can anyone offer me any advice, I have already done all the pre-reqs required for med school, I have a degree in stats. Can anyone give me advice as to what I should do. My grades in the pre-reqs were low, should I retake these courses, or what programs should I look into.
If I take a certificate course that is non-degree granting, how does it work into my GPA?
Thanks for any advice provided.

Phil Anthropist

SDN Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 14, 2004
Visit site
Status
Hi newbie! :D

How low are we talking about for prereqs? If it's C- or lower, definitely consider retaking. Some med schools require grades of C or better in the prereqs.

For the AMCAS (MD) application, retakes are averaged.

AMCAS example:

Biology I (Fall 2003): F, 4 credits
Biology I (Fall 2004): A, 4 credits
AMCAS calculation: C, 8 credits

For the AACOMAS (DO) application, only the most recent grade (regardless if it's higher or lower) is used.

AACOMAS example:

Biology I (Fall 2003): F, 4 credits
Biology I (Fall 2004): A, 4 credits
AACOMAS calculation: A, 4 credits

and

Biology I (Fall 2003): C, 4 credits
Biology II (Fall 2004): D, 4 credits
AACOMAS calculation: D, 4 credits