alternative options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KristenD77

Predent
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
It really upsets me to make this post. My grades are fine nothing amazing but pretty average for dental school. cGPA is ~3.5, BPC~3.56, BPCM ~3.46 (C in a 6 credit math class due to my final being worth so much and being much more challenging than expected makes a big difference) However, I'm not good at standardized test and I've taken the DAT twice now. The first time was a joke because I wasn't serious about it and juggled so much (including my father being temporarily paralyzed) and I really didn't study well for that at all.I only used kaplan and basically ignored the PAT section which yes I highly regret. The second time I studied so hard (while working full time overnight shifts but still, I really busted my ass) & still didn't make a 20 in any section. My AA is an 18, my science is a 19 while my PAT is a 16. I only have one more chance to take the DAT and I will dedicate all summer to it without work but I'm facing the dooming question what else could I do besides dentistry? I considered doing microbiology or something in that field but the career is flooded with animal testing and I don't want to do that. I worked in a nursing department and I honestly didn't like it.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Dental Hygiene. All of my friends that ask me about dentistry and say its too much work/effort to get into school, I tell them to do hygiene because its less school and they make a ton for what they do. Plus you work dental hours and make around 75-100k if you work hard.

Theres no other profession that can honestly beat it. Nursing? OT? PT? PA? NP? all crazy hours or much less pay or not as easy as Hygiene. Its a no brainer for me, If I wasnt willing to put in the work to become a dentist or wasnt able to get into school I would do hygiene hands down. Also much less stress.