Altruism/Prosocial Behavior

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

btv123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergraduate student at a community college with a question that I would appreciate knowledgeable answers to. Normally I would ask my professor, but we were not able to cover all of the chapters during the semester. Because I found social psychology to be particularly interesting, I have begun reading the chapters we did not discuss in class over summer. My question pertains to people's motives for seemingly altruistic behavior. I understand that according to the social exchange theory we will help others when the benefits of doing so outweigh the costs, implying that altruism is nonexistent. But according to Botson's "Empathy-Altruism Theory," people will help regardless of the costs if they feel empathy for the person in distress. I became confused after reading the section of the chapter prior to explaining Botson's theory that "considerable evidence indicates that people are aroused and disturbed when they see another person suffer and that they help at least in part to relieve their own distress" (Dovidio, 1984; Dovidio, Piliavin, Gaertner, Schroeder, & Clark, 1991; Eisenberg & Fabes, 1991). The previous excerpt seems to be an alternative wording of Botson's explanation for altruism except that it supports the social exchange theory. The idea being that the person's perceived benefit of relieving their own distress(by helping the individual) caused by the salient distress of another (feeling empathy for the unfortunate individual) would be a greater reward to their self interest than if they did not help the person at all. So given the explanation of my thought process, why is Botson's Empathy-Altruism Theory considered to be discrepant from the social exchange theory? And why does it encompass the social exchange theory when the social exchange theory seems(at least to me) to serve