Am I Behind?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

strongbones

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm now a second semester sophomore, but when I was a freshman I got into a pretty bad accident and had to take the second semester off. I came back to take a couple prereqs over the summer, while I was getting off crutches. When I returned in the fall, I felt a bit lost on campus so I joined an honors fraternity, which has been really great.

The problem is that I'm worried I'm not doing enough. I volunteer every week in an organization that helps prisoners, I am vice chair of my fraternity committee and plan to run for leadership positions in the coming semesters, and I have a job as a calculus tutor. But I haven't had time yet to get clinical experience or research, two big things I keep hearing are necessary for med schools. I hoped to get an internship at the NIH this summer, but I'm not sure it'll happen because they have massive budget cuts coming. I emailed over 20 scientists and got 2 "maybe, we'll put you on the list to consider" type replies. The rest were no's or non-responsive, although I did hear that I was an impressive candidate so it's not just that I suck.

I have hospice volunteering lined up, applied for an internship at the Venter institute that I'll hear back from at the end of the month (but not likely, since I have no research experience), and am thinking about emailing my orthopedist to ask him if he'll let me shadow for a bit. Everything about my summer is pretty up in the air right now, and it's driving me crazy!