Am I doing the right thing? 2.65 undergrad...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pcu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys/gals.

I am a current nursing student at a hospital based diploma program that is fortunately accredited through a local university. I also hold a BA in film studies from pitt. Pitt gpa is 2.65, nursing school will be around 3.2 (4.0 in microio, bio, A&P 1 and A&P 2). At this point my overall will be about 2.9. As part pf my tuition forgiveness program I am required to work 2 years as an RN for my hospital. I am looking at grabbing an ICU job FWIW.

During that time I will be working 3-12 hour shifts a week. Currently I plan on taking BCMP classes (about 36-40 credits worth) and hopefuly I can get mostly A's and end up 3.8 or higher. I figure I take 2 classes per semester while working and I land A's. Of course I will also concentrate in killing the MCAT at some point.

So after doing all that I am looking at roughly 3.1 +/- 0.5 with 250+ credits. It would seem to make the most sense to me to take undergrad courses a la carte considering my work requirement for the next 2 years. benefits will contribute $1750 per semester towards tuition so that will be nice.

The nursing gig will definitely provide me with a lot of clinical experience as well as a healthy confidence that I feel many will lack. Not sure if that will get me anywhere but it will make me feel more comfortable/confident anyway. Will also make getting LOR nice and easy.

I am also going to see if I can find a way into a research oppurtunity as well as seeing if I can find ways to volunteer.

So anyway any feedback is much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

It sounds like that is all you can do with the work requirements.