Am I done for?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

orthomyxo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Let me first say that I'm nowhere near being ready to apply. I'm just looking for some honest input, and figured that the posters who frequent the WAMC forum would be most willing to provide this. I'm currently a sophomore, and transferred to my current (public) university from a private school after completing my freshman year. I came into my sophomore year with a 3.73 cGPA/~3.9 sGPA, but unfortunately had a pretty bad fall semester which resulted from a combination of an overloaded schedule, burnout, and poor time management.

Last semester, I enrolled in Organic Chem I w/lab (4 credits), Bio 1 lab (no lecture, 1 credit), Microbiology w/ lab (3 credit lecture, 2 credit lab), and a gen ed (3 credits). Even though it was only 13 credits, the three labs consumed an absurd amount of my time, especially considering my already sub-par time management skills. This led to burnout, and ultimately to a C in Organic I and a D in Micro lab, which was especially tough to swallow since I never received a single grade lower than 85 on any assignment. I simply could not get the reports in on time. Despite receiving A's in all of my other lectures and labs, I ended up with a 3.033 semester GPA, and what I assume is now a 3.3 cGPA/3.5 sGPA. I know this doesn't seem so bad stat wise, but when you get a C and a D in one semester, your confidence kind of goes out the window.