Medical Am I on the right track as a nontraditional pre-med?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! Many thanks to SDN for being such a great resource for pre-meds, especially nontraditional pre-meds.

To provide some background information, I obtained my BA in 2014 with a cGPA of 2.652. I only took 1 science class during that time and I had failed it so my sGPA was essentially a 0. I graduated with my MSW in 2017 and worked as a social worker full-time for 3 years, with 1 year as the lead clinician on the geropsych unit (this is where I fell in love with geriatric psychiatry!). I've been working per diem at that same hospital since May 2020 and started another per diem job this past January in the local ED completing psych consults. I have been completing a DIY postbacc and my cGPA is currently 3.0 and sGPA is 3.42. I still have a number of prereqs and higher level science classes to take so I am confident I can get those numbers higher. Unfortunately, I have no research experience or any volunteer hours. The plan is to start volunteer work this summer, when a local hospice starts accepting outside volunteers again.

I'm aiming to take the MCAT early 2022 and then apply during the 2022-2023 application cycle to both DO and MD programs.

My questions are: am I on the right track as a nontraditional pre-med? Other than the MCAT, is there anything essential missing that could make me a stronger applicant? Any critique is appreciated. Thank you :)
That seems like quite a dramatic rise in your cGPA--are you including your MSW credits? Because unfortunately, you should only count your undergrad credits toward that. What is your cGPA/sGPA in your DIY post-bacc alone?

Members don't see this ad.