missjmd

missjmd
Nov 18, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I have dreamed of becoming a physician for as long as I can remember... However, I am feeling discouraged from medical school... As an aspiring medical student, I have researched medical school admissions throughout the U.S., and have found nothing but intimidating statistics about highly qualified applicants that are not accepted to medical school, and how the number of applicants increases every year, and the acceptance rate remains the same... I know that physician assistant programs are also very competitive, but not as competitive as med school. They also require less prerequisite coursework, and a shorter program length. Whether I am able to get into medical school or a PA program, I know that I would be happy either way. I just need to make sure that I make the right decision, and make myself the most competitive applicant that I can be.

When I spoke to my pre-med advisor at my university, she advised me to choose a major that I find genuinely interesting, and that incorporates as much undergraduate clinical experience as possible. I am currently a Kinesiology/Athletic Training major. Through the Athletic Training program, I will gain a great deal of clinical experience and direct patient contact working at local hospitals, sport therapy clinics, rehabilitation facilities, and will be able to work directly with a high school football team, treating injuries and illnesses. I am an active child life volunteer at a local children's hospital, an academic volunteer tutor at the local community c:sleep:ollege, *and I am also involved in the "3PR" Pre-Professional Program at my university, which will help prepare me for graduate school admissions, entrance examinations, my personal statement, and interviews. *