Am I on track for an MSTP program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surgeonboy97

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm currently an undergraduate sophomore hoping to attend an MD/PhD program after I graduate. I am currently studying biomedical engineering at a top 40 public school. I believe this is the most selective program at my university. I'm also taking a political science minor (out of personal interest) and a genetics minor (that's what I want to do my PhD in). Between these classes and my other extracurriculars I expect to spend 5 years working on my undergrad. Here's a bit of background:

My current GPA according to my university is a 4.o, although my school gives A+'s, so if medical schools were to recalculate it it now it would be a 3.94 science GPA and a 3.93 cumulative. Up to this point I've had all A-'s, A's, and A+'s. However, it looks like after a bit of a subpar performance in a circuits analysis class I may end up with B, which would bring me to a 3.88 science and a 3.89 cumulative. This is one of my points of concern, I would've liked to avoid any B's if possible. Will this be significant when applying to top tier med schools or simply be brushed of as a minor slip in an otherwise successful course load?

I'm also currently spending about 16 hours a week helping out in a veterinary research lab, working primarily with genetics, and have been offered a full-time research position over the summer, hopefully enough to get a significant project done, if not a minor publication.

I was recently certified as an EMT-B, and while I haven't really done anything with it yet I am planning to begin volunteering doing intake at a nearby open door clinic. This would be 4 hours per week every week, or about 400 hours by the time I graduate.