amcas formatting

Discussion in 'Physician Scientists' started by SpeakLittleB, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. SpeakLittleB

    SpeakLittleB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    MD/PhD Student
    someone who's applying this cycle, do the paragraphs all run together in your md/phd statement and your research experiences essay? I am really confused by this because on the screen, there are no spaces between paragraphs at all, but when i do the "print application" to make the pdf file, all the correct spaces appear again. should i be concerned? because without paragraphs, certainly the whole thing is a mess.
     
  2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. SaltySqueegee

    SaltySqueegee El Rey de Salsa

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    3
    Status:
    MD/PhD Student
    They still haven't fixed this stupid formatting problem?

    Hmmm... I think if you do a search in the Pre-Allopath forum with "AMCAS" "Essay" "Format" and/or "Paragraph" as search items you might be able to find a way to force the formatting. It's been a while.

    I feel your frustration. It's dumb when you break the logical flow into different thoughts with different paragraphs, and AMCAS goes and screws it all up. You can tell that I'm not bitter; still three years after.
     
  4. Shatterstar17

    Shatterstar17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the upside, we all did fine, getting into schools and all that. But yeah, I remember looking at my essays like big blocky pieces of text I vomitted onto the page. Not really befitting how much works goes into them.. :mad:
     
  5. dr.z

    Physician

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,096
    Likes Received:
    4
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    I don't think you can do anything about the formatting your essay.
     
  6. Caristra

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Medical Student
    If its in the PDF then it should be in what the schools download.

    I left a line in between each paragraph since there is no way to indent. It showed up in screen and on the PDF.
     
  7. Shatterstar17

    Shatterstar17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah Carista is right, at least for last cycle. Throughout the season interviewers had a copy of my app that looked suspiciously similar to the one on the AMCAS site.
     
  8. anka24

    anka24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    My MD/PhD and Research experience essays and the personal comment all looked ok on the PDF, but my work/activities section certainly did not. for that section, my paragraph breaks were non-existent. But you could still tell where the paragraphs were because there were big spaces there.
     
  9. Caristra

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Medical Student
    Ditto. They really need to fix that.
     

Share This Page