An observation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kttdancer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I find it interesting about how I've seen several threads by male posters worrying about getting married and then going for a DPT, but I haven't seen a single women worried about having a husband while pursuing the degree. Just a casual note about the prevalence of ideas about gender roles...

Members don't see this ad.

Haha, it is interesting...had to chime in as my background is in the social sciences, but I agree, it must stem from roles on who "should" be the breadwinner/caretaker. I am starting pt school in the fall (or summer depending on the program) and am getting married in october (I'm a male), and it doesn't worry me one bit. I think we/I will do just fine, or even better since I have such a wonderful support system already in place with my fiance. We have already planned our wedding on a sat., and will postpone our official honeymoon until winter break. Just have to make things work sometimes...

I think it's funny too. I start PT school in the fall right before my 5th wedding anniversary. I used to work 70-80 hours a week in my old job and had no marital issues. It's all about supporting each other, prioritizing and balancing. Do people not realize that you have to have a life outside of work/school? You will be miserable and crack if you don't!

BTW - congrats vapt.

Members don't see this ad :)
This is very interesting-as I am a 38 yr old married w/ 3 young children and due to CTS I am going back to school-was going to try dental school -but am thinking DPT might be more rewarding for me (and I wouldn't be using my hands for as much fine detail work).

Can anyone lead me somewhere to get some info on say "a day in the life of a PT?"

Oh, yes and congrats on getting married!