Another DO student question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

unknown1254

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have been looking at past posts on this subject, but I was hoping to get a fresh perspective on my situation. I am a DO student with a 630, but unforunately I did not take USMLE step I. My plan is to work hard and try to do the best I can on USMLE step 2 (Ive been reading that step 2 could increase in importance over the next few years) and work my butt off on rotations, try to get good LOR's and especially to do well on audition rotations. I am thinking about taking Step I, but if I go ahead with my plan do you think I have a shot at matching? I know Gas is very competitive and its a ROAD speciality, but from what I have seen it appears to be a very DO friendly field. That is the other factor I was curious about.......I will be applying to residencies in DO heavy areas (top choice would be PA/NJ, especially in Philly). I am hoping that if the PD or residency director is a DO they will look favorably on COMLEX. I am by no means an exceptional medical student, but I like to think I am easy going, pleasant, hard working and someone who will put the team first. I have done well on my rotations so far. I am not looking to match top tier, but Anes is my top choice and I just want to match somewhere. Any success stories out there?

Also just as a follow-up since it is so competitive and Im at a disadvantage is there any harm in applying to another speciality as a back-up? Again I really want Anes, but I think thats better then not matching at all. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If looking to go to programs in the philly area with D.O. PD's you must be looking to go to Jeff or Temple. Both great training places from what I hear. Jeff has a great rep for good training and reasonable hours.