Another residency advice thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

toastytoastie

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a fourth year medical student currently on a leave of absence to pursue a one year of structural biochemistry research through the HHMI med fellows program. When I started medical school, I had every intention of pursuing a physician scientist career and assumed I would apply into internal medicine. Upon reflection following my subinternships (and contrasting my patient-care experiences with my current lab experience), I think I would be happier without training that directly deals with patient care.

I shadowed a pathologist and am interested in pursuing a path residency. I haven't done any electives yet, but was planning on doing a general path elective when I return to M4 year next summer (which would be required to get path LORs).

I have a few questions:
1) How is the academic job market? There are a lot of posts about the terrible path job market, but I'm interested in an academic career with strong research bias.
2) Should an academic career not pan out for me, are there opportunities to move into industry or to work at a national lab from path?
3) How competitive will I be? I am from a top-ten US medical school and scored in the low 250's on Step 1 and high passed family medicine and neurology with honors in my other core M3 clerkships (surgery, OB/GYN, internal, psychiatry, pediatrics). In terms of my pertinent M4 electives, I did HP a pediatrics clinical elective :( and honored my ICU and gen internal medicine sub-internship (as well as my other electives). I am taking CK at the end of August and have not yet taken CS.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: