Anxious and in Need of Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nerdy_integral

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I am a recent college graduate with high hopes of furthering my education by going to pharmacy school. I'm from New York and the school I went to was mostly known for business and psychology, but it had a very dedicated science faculty. Part of the reason why I choose the school was because it was small (so class sizes were at most 25 students) and also because of the various affiliations they had with companies and other colleges. I went in freshman year as a biology major wanting to go to medical school. I realized by the end of that year it really wasn't for me. I am not really interested in academia and I've always been fascinated with working in healthcare. Due to personal reasons, I struggled a lot my first two years of college and I did pretty well my last two years. I struggled a lot with organic chemistry and I put too much my second semester (organic chem 2, analytical chem, genetics and two electives) I feel very embarrassed. I got C's in both semesters for organic chemistry, and I am contemplating whether I should re-take those courses. I am very strong in mathematics and I really loved physical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and environmental science. I've always wanted to take courses in drug treatment, and mechanism of action. I think part of the reason why I had a hard time with organic chemistry (especially trying to teach myself) is because I couldn't really apply myself well. It wasn't until senior year where I took synthesis (orgo 2 lab might be the familiar name for it) and I got an A where I had a full appreciation for orgo. I graduated college with a BS in Chemistry (ACS certified) with a 3.450 gpa.