Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Any Advice for a (Potential) DO?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by goodb29, Feb 22, 2001.

1. goodb29

goodb29 Member
    10+ Year Member

I just wanted to know if anyone could give me some advice on becoming a D.O. Right now I work for a medical/science publishing company. I graduated in '99 with a degree in Chemistry and a 2.9 GPA. Is there anything that I can do to improve my chances on being accepted at a Osteopathic Medical School. I really prefer the hands-on, preventative medicine, and caring for the "whole person" philosophy that the Osteopathic degree offers. However, I feel that because my GPA is not that high that I may have already ruined my chances. Is there anything that I can do to improve my chances and distinguish myself from the other candidates? (I could probably use a little consolation too, lol) but any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read my posting.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. ewagner

ewagner Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Go for a graduate degree and get nothing less than a B in any class. Or, you could attempt an allied health field, but you most likely will not get into PT or OT with a 2.9.
    My suggestion is to go to Grad School.
    By the way, medical school, regardless of DO or MD, attempts to teach the "whole person" philosophy. I have NEVER seen any MD disregard one system when treating another. I love your enthusiasm, but remember, both branches of medicine learn from each other, and neither branch holds a monopoly on "whole person, hands-on, patient care".

4. mpp

mpp SDN Moderator
    Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]