carcrazyguy

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Aug 6, 2003
TX
Status (Visible)
My wife will start med-school in July! I was wondering if any husbands of med-students are on the website? I would like to know if you work(ed) while she went to school? I am sure most did. I currently work in retail appliance/electronic sales, and have been thinking of trying to find a 9-5 mon-fri job once my wife starts school. I know that I will take a large pay cut to do this. However, I feel that having the weekends off would give us the possibility to spend a little more time together. But I am worried that since we have no kids, we might not qualify for much in the way of student loans. So it might be a big risk taking a pay cut and only work a monday-friday job. Because I know most all appliance stores require a 6 day work week. I have sold appliances for about 8 years and I have never met a monday-friday salesman. Anyway maybe you guys can help me out here. THANKS IN ADVANCE

k's mom

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 13, 2001
Pennsylvania, via Tucson
Status (Visible)
I'm a wife of a med student, but there are many, many med-spouse-husbands out there. Your situation is no different than most spouses, male or female. First of all, you will qualify (most likely) for more aid than you think. Based on age (starting at @25), the EFC formula ignores certain amounts of investment/savings. Likewise, EFC only takes into consideration spousal income over and above a certain threshold. Take a look at the financial aid forum and the thread on EFC; someone just posted a great link to the federal calculator/formula.
As for when to work, I think the 9-5 is a great idea. I also suggest taking up a hobby, classes, etc... to fill some of your evenings as well. It will keep the "feeling-neglected" blues at bay, while helping assuage your wife's guilt as well when she has to study. Essentially, for the first two years she will have very set class hours and can make up her own study hours.