Any NON-TRADs out there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tangerinepuddle

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What has your experience been like? Did you switch careers? Was it worth it?
Stories, please!

(Age 26 and up - no offense to anyone younger, that is just what I consider non-trad age)

Members don't see this ad.

At my uni mature age is 21+ and as vet in AU is undergraduate pretty much all students are over 21 at starting and have previous degrees/careers. There was only ~10 students straight from school out of 120 starting (only 80 left now in 3rd year :( ).

I did a nursing degree and worked as an RN for 5 years before switching to vet. Hopefully it was a good decision! I'll find out in 2.5 years :)

Non-trad here. How can I help? I tend to be bad at checking this these days, so PM me if I don't get back to you.

Members don't see this ad :)
IMO, yes, it's worth it - if you want it badly enough and you are willing to make the sacrifices and bite off a big chunk of debt.

I'll be 33 this summer. I quit my stable job of over 10+ years to move half-way across the country, away from my husband, family and half my pets.

I was working in a veterinary practice, so it wasn't a 'complete' 'career switch' - but I'm looking forward to practicing medicine and not running a practice - at least for awhile!

I will be 33 next month and I am just starting vet school this fall. There were a lot of serious issues I had to work out in my head before doing this; and I spent the last 2 years making huge sacrifices so I could get all the classes / experience I needed to apply, not knowing if it would pay off or not!! Well now here I am, accepted for c/o 2013.