any PDs here

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredo32

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im a psychiatrist looking to do a 2nd residency in fp

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
You cray cray

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I think I could use my psychiatry experience and knowledge in family medicine, PCPs prescribe more psych meds than psychiatrists, my motivational interviewing skills to help people decide to make healthier choices and selfishly I miss the rest of medicine. I Am not applying this year, I am applying next year. I do have a few red flags, I graduated from psych 2015 . I have been working ever since. I did an intern year prior to psych. Any suggestions on programs to apply to? I will move anywhere. I went to med school to help others and to be HAPPY. Psych day in and day out bores me, I miss "the rest" of medicine, I like the long term patient relationship but I want to treat rashes, sore throats, manage diabetes, I want to work on primary and secondary prevention. I will move anywhere in the country start as a PGY 1.

PCPs prescribe more psych meds than psychiatrists.

Not in my experience. Local psych docs prescribe 2-3x more psych meds than I do, particularly benzos and hypnotics.

I miss "the rest" of medicine, I like the long term patient relationship but I want to treat rashes, sore throats, manage diabetes, I want to work on primary and secondary prevention.

Be careful what you wish for.

Anyway, good luck with your future plans, but I would recommend you speak to your FM colleagues and think long and hard before plunging in.

Oh, and I forgot, the part where you say "my motivational interviewing skills to help people decide to make healthier choices". Good luck using your motivational interviewing skills to make people lose weight, and quit smoking, and quit pot, and quit unsafe sex, and quit....