• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

PB2464

10+ Year Member
Feb 19, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I'm currently 29 yrs old and preparing my journey into med school. I have an undergrad degree in Biology and my goal is to use the next 1-2 years gaining experience, volunteering, and re-taking courses. I received C/D in OrgI/OrgII and a C in Phy II. I want to better these grades, possibly taking the rest of the pre-reqs as well to prepare for the MCAT.

Is a post-bacc the best route? What about an SMP? I have yet to take the MCAT.

DrSumdae

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Nov 23, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
If I were you I would try a practice MCAT, first, to see how you do. And/or buy a Kaplan prep book (I also like the Nove prep books too).

I don't know if there are any post-bac programs in TX, but there must be something! (search at www.aamc.org) Maybe contact a TX state school and find out what your options might be?

zolaash

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 28, 2006
Status (Visible)
there is a post-bacc at the University of North Texas Health Sciences Center in Ft. Worth. it is a 1 yr. Master's of Medical Sciences degree and is associated with TCOM. personally, i would just retake undergraduate courses before going there.

About the Ads

PB2464

10+ Year Member
Feb 19, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
If I were you I would try a practice MCAT, first, to see how you do. And/or buy a Kaplan prep book (I also like the Nove prep books too).

I don't know if there are any post-bac programs in TX, but there must be something! (search at www.aamc.org) Maybe contact a TX state school and find out what your options might be?

I'm not sure about taking an MCAT at this time. Seems kind of counter-productive. I've been out of school for seven years and took most pre-reqs about nine years ago.

DrSumdae

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member