Anyone freaking out about initial cert boards?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

futuredo32

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it too early for anyone else to be totally freaked out? Is anyone studying yet?

Members don't see this ad.

If you have gotten to this point, take a deep breath and realize your success.

You have reached a point where passing tests is basically optional. You can fail each of the next 3 years and do perfectly well for yourself. A friend of mine has failed twice and has no difficulty finding jobs willing to pay $170/hr for his services.

I barely studied for general and not a minute for child. Study or don’t - you have reached the good life.

Reactions: 1 user
I failed twice. I didn't study enough the first time so I studied my @ss off last summer Clive and Spiegel memorized, BTB. I graduated in 2015 didn't take it that year. I have to pass this year or there will be a good gap where I am not BE next year. I am taking it to pass so my former PD will write a LOR for a 2nd residency in FP. I'm taking Kaufman's class in NY this year, doing focus and the Kaufman neuro questions and a few other question books. I'm freaking out big.

Members don't see this ad :)
Last I checked, you are BE for 7 years post graduation.

Google shows “Effective January 1, 2012, ABPN will require a physician to become Board certified within seven years following successful completion of ACGME-accredited or ABPN-approved residency training in their primary specialty or ACGME-accredited subspecialty.”

If you graduated in 2015, math gives you until around 2021-2022.