AOA approved residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pabdalla

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody, I have a couple of questions that I hope someone can help me with. Does AOA approved residencies for osteo students differ from regular allopathic residencies? My modest understanding is that to be competitive in regular allopathic residencies, I have to take the USMLE, but I do not have to take the USMLE to be competitive in AOA approved residencies (please feel free to correct me if I am wrong).

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I know that as long as I am an osteopathic medical student, I have to take the COMLEX, but I read alot about the possibility of taking USMLE (besides the COMLEX) in order to become more competitive for allopathic residencies. Is that true for AOA approved residencies or only regular allopathic residencies or are they both the same?

Members don't see this ad :)
I know that as long as I am an osteopathic medical student, I have to take the COMLEX, but I read alot about the possibility of taking USMLE (besides the COMLEX) in order to become more competitive for allopathic residencies. Is that true for AOA approved residencies or only regular allopathic residencies or are they both the same?

I believe that the USLME's are taken only to become more competitive for allopathic residencies (so DO's can be compared objectively to MD board scores)...for AOA osteopathic residencies, I believe that you only have to take the COMLEX...

Thanks for your help guys.