AOAStatus?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thone2k

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a first year medical student interested in rad onc. I have been reading the posts and I wasn't sure what "AOA status" meant. I did a google search and found american osteopathic, optometric and obesity association.

thanks.
M

Members don't see this ad.

thone2k said:
Hi guys,

I am a first year medical student interested in rad onc. I have been reading the posts and I wasn't sure what "AOA status" meant. I did a google search and found american osteopathic, optometric and obesity association.

thanks.
M

Alpha Omega Alpha...it is an honor society for med students. Most (but not all) schools have it.You can be junior AOA (top 2 or 3 in the class) or senior AOA which is usually the top 15%. However, it varies by school...sometimes it can get pretty political.

Its a little redundant. If you see great grades and a great CV, AOA isnt telling you anything new. its a bit overrated. One does not live or die by AOA status per se.

Members don't see this ad :)
stephew said:
Its a little redundant. If you see great grades and a great CV, AOA isnt telling you anything new. its a bit overrated. One does not live or die by AOA status per se.

for certain specialties (derm, ent, ortho) that are traditionally very competitive to get into, aoa matters. for radonc, it doesnt really matter, but it wouldnt hurt.

im not quite sure i follow; the issue that AOA doesnt really tell anyone much that the rest of the CV doesnt say stands no matter which field you go into. Some schools dont even have aoa; And for better or worse, at this point in time radonc is probably the most difficult spot to get. So I think i missed something you were getting at.