Applying and getting rejected, get you blacklisted??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

informme

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I heard from many friends that if you apply to a med school and they don't accept you, that you will be somewhat "blacklisted" and it will be much more difficult to get into that school the next time you apply (they keep a file on you and know you've been rejected).

Is this true?

Because I'm a New York resident, I was going to send an application to every NY med school when I was ready to apply; but after hearing this, I feel that I should "save" some NY schools in case I get rejected everywhere so that I would have a chance there with an improved application the year after...

Members don't see this ad.

I heard from many friends that if you apply to a med school and they don't accept you, that you will be somewhat "blacklisted" and it will be much more difficult to get into that school the next time you apply (they keep a file on you and know you've been rejected).

Is this true?

Because I'm a New York resident, I was going to send an application to every NY med school when I was ready to apply; but after hearing this, I feel that I should "save" some NY schools in case I get rejected everywhere so that I would have a chance there with an improved application the year after...