Jan 18, 2006
Status
Veterinarian
I'm posting this for my boyfriend who is not a member but plans to attend medical school. So, the published deadline for hismed school apps are Novemberish or something (not the early decision of Aug 1of AMCAS)

My SO was told that unless you apply in June or July there is basically no point and you won't get in, because by that time medical schools basically have all their interwiews set up and know who they want. I.e., the deadline is bull crap.

I read a couple other things on this forum that seemed to imply this too, but wanted to hear it straight from the horse's mouth, if you will.

He signed up for MCATS in October and planned to submit around that time. Is this true that an October application is basically worthless because schools already know who they want, have interviews slots set up,etc? I apologize if this is a silly question, I'm a senior clinic student hand don't know how this works and he'd been in PhD land all year.

Last edited:

adeline

idk my bff ***?
Jul 24, 2009
Status
yeah october is too late.

OP
WhtsThFrequency
Jan 18, 2006
Status
Veterinarian
Yeah that is kind of what I figured. Surpising though, you'd think they'd accept up to a time and then review everyone, not do rolling. Might miss some very good candidates.

He could not submit in June because he was finishing up his PhD (and an extremely time intensive one, 6 yrs) and had no time to study super thoroughly for MCATS during that time, thought that after he defended he could get it out of the way. Yup, app next year sounds like the plan right now.

dbrokut

Removed
Jul 24, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
Yeah that is kind of what I figured. Surpising though, you'd think they'd accept up to a time and then review everyone, not do rolling. Might miss some very good candidates.
Agreed! Most schools accept scores up till september 09.

RogueUnicorn

rawr.
7+ Year Member
Jul 15, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]