Applying MD/Phd with no lab experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mrx2

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have been working in a math research for 4 years and I am now deciding whether or not to pursue the md/phd. My question is if my lack of experimental lab experience will hurt me in the application?

Another concern: since I have only worked in this one lab, I will only have one letter from a PI, but I keep reading that I need 2 or more. What do you guys think, any suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
So I have been working in a computational lab (biologically relevant) for 4 years and I am now deciding whether or not to pursue the md/phd. My question is if my lack of experimental lab experience will hurt me in the application?

Another concern: since I have only worked in this one lab, I will only have one letter from a PI, but I keep reading that I need 2 or more. What do you guys think, any suggestions?

Working in a computational lab is absolutely fine - research experience is not limited to wet-lab. In fact, I know several people who have successfully applied into MD/PhD programs doing pure in silico work (1 went to WashU and another to Penn State).

As for your other concern, I am just like you...I have only worked in one lab. This is absolutely fine as well, it won't hurt you as long as the work you did under your current PI is good work and that he writes you a good letter. However, if your PI collaborates with other people, then you might want to think about getting letters of rec from them as well (provided they are familiar with your work).

Good luck!

Phew, that's good news. That's always been a concern of mine because I assumed mstp programs only wanted wet-lab work, since it is most clinically relevant. Thanks for the help!

Members don't see this ad :)