Applying to allo. heme/onc. programs as a DO without taking the USMLE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drexel7-7

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I was wondering if anyone has had experience or know someone who has applied to allopathic heme./onc. programs without having taken the USMLE. I'm currently a third year student and I was told that for internal medicine I don't need to take the USMLE. I was never told that for allopathic fellowships you need to take the USMLE. So I'm kind of stuck right now without one. I was thinking of possibly taking USMLE step 2 soon alongside my COMLEX step 2 and then take step 1 USMLE later in my fourth year. Do DO students need to take all 3 steps? Could I just take step 2 or do I also need to take step 1? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I will say up front that I don't know the actual answer to your question and I suspect that it varies widely from program to program.

Step scores, while still important for fellowship aren't nearly as big of a deal as they are in residency where they're used to thin the herd. That said, fellowship PDs also aren't as facile with COMLEX scores as most residency PDs are, so it's nice to have at least one score that they're familiar with. Since USMLE 2CK is infinitely easier than Step 1 I would vote for taking that one to go along with your COMLEX scores, that way they have some numerical thing to use to evaluate you. If a PD has no experience with COMLEX and all you have is COMLEX, they may just pass over your app without giving it a 2nd look. If you have at least one Step score for them to see, I think you're more likely to get some traction.