Applying to schools in TX

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

long8horn7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time applying to pharmacy schools. I just took my pcat this July and got a 71 composite (before the essay was graded). Just graduated with a degree in biology. I had a 2.7 gpa. I took all my prerequisites at a community college and had a 3.3 gpa. I've been working at a local pharmacy for over 4 years now. I have never applied and I don't even know how to begin or what my chances are. Any imput or advice is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

This is my first time applying to pharmacy schools. I just took my pcat this July and got a 71 composite (before the essay was graded). Just graduated with a degree in biology. I had a 2.7 gpa. I took all my prerequisites at a community college and had a 3.3 gpa. I've been working at a local pharmacy for over 4 years now. I have never applied and I don't even know how to begin or what my chances are. Any imput or advice is appreciated!

Question time!

I think that the PCAT is OK (nothing spectacular by any stretch ... What were your subsection scores?), but I'd be worried about your overall GPA being below 3.0.

Did you take the pre-reqs before or after you finished your degree?

You have experience, which is a major bonus. However, your rather lackluster GPA combined with your merely average PCAT (average for accepted students) will put you in an less than stellar position. Are you going to take the PCAT again?

Hello there, I'm a native Texan and this is what I've gathered about texas pharmacy schools.