Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Arguably lame post-bac location: thoughts?

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by MermaidMD, Dec 24, 2008.

1. MermaidMD

7+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    So I've been lurking quite a bit and have finally decided to post a thread about an application concern that's been nagging at the back of my brain for quite some time...

I graduated from a top-50 UC campus in 2006 with a BA in English, GPA 3.54 (would have been higher but I studied abroad in England junior year and their marking is substantially tougher than in the US). I've spent the past two years piddling around in bottom tier healthcare and have decided that it's time to suck it up and do what I really want: apply to med school.

Needless to say, I've got to take all my prerequisites. I'm currently at a community college--just finished Chem 1A and Trig (in preparation for Calculus) and received a 4.0 this semester. I'll finish next semester with Chem1B and *hopefully* Calculus (my Trig teacher submitted a petition on my behalf to waive the Precalculus prerequisite because I destroyed the curve in her class...muahahaha).

I've applied to CSU Hayward for the Fall 2009 term. I wanted to apply to CSU San Jose but with the budget crisis in California, a great deal of the more impacted schools are no longer accepting applications from students who already hold a bachelor's degree. CSU Hayward (aka. CSU East Bay) is the only other school of "commutable" distance, other than SFSU and a bunch of stupidly expensive private schools.