autoclave question

Discussion in 'Dental' started by frankri, Sep 20, 2014.

  1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. frankri

    frankri

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Status:
    Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Question
    Lets say you have tested your autoclave and its 100% working well
    If you put a flask with a contaminated liquid in the autoclave, is it getting sterile after a cycle?
    What about blood in the liquid?

    Lets say there is blood in a local anesthesic cartridge, if it gets through the autoclave cycle, is it considered sterile?
    Thanks
     
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. frankri

    frankri

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Status:
    Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    anyone?
     
  4. Daurang

    Daurang 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,336
    Status:
    Dentist
    Yes. The blood stain may stick on the instruments, which still make you look really bad, but it is sterilized.
     
  5. frankri

    frankri

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Status:
    Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    thanks doc, but is it sterile even if the blood is inside a liquid (local anesthesic) in a GLASS cartridge?
     
  6. Daurang

    Daurang 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,336
    Status:
    Dentist
    sterile...yes. contaminated...yes. I could be wrong so someone correct me if so.
     
  7. doc toothache

    doc toothache 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    7,564
    Status:
    Dentist
    Fortunately for us, microorganisms cannot hide behind glass.
     

About the ads

Share This Page