Average GPA, Average MCAT scores...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

workingirl

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an average student with average MCAT scores and am wondering how much of a difference my few years of work experience actually make. Does it count for something that I have a masters in public health and have been working in the field for a little while now?

My MCAT scores were PS9, V10, BS11 for a total of 30R.
I am disappointed because I was averaging a 34 on practice tests...However, working 40-50 hours a week and studying in the evenings has been quite a challenge and quitting my job is not an option!

Any thoughts? Anyone have any experience or advice in this area?

Members don't see this ad.

My apologies, I thought I had written my GPA. Good guess - it was a 3.6!

I am currently working as a health care analyst and devote most of my time on projects related to research on and programs aimed at reducing health care disparities for racial and ethnic minorities.

I guess my real question is - how much difference does a few years of work experience actually make? Medical school websites say that admissions committees value work experience and think that non-traditional students bring experience and knowledge to the class... but if i've only been working for a few years, is that still the case?

Members don't see this ad :)

I am currently working as a health care analyst and devote most of my time on projects related to research on and programs aimed at reducing health care disparities for racial and ethnic minorities.

I guess my real question is - how much difference does a few years of work experience actually make? Medical school websites say that admissions committees value work experience and think that non-traditional students bring experience and knowledge to the class... but if i've only been working for a few years, is that still the case?